ABOUT THE DISTRICT West Singhbhum is one of the oldest district of Jharkhand. After the British  conquest of Kolahan in 1837, a new district was consequently constituted to be  known as Singhbhum with Chaibasa as it’s Headquarter. Subsequently three  Districts namely East Singhbhum, West Singhbhum and Saraikela- Kharsawan  have been carved out of erstwhile Singhbhum District with Chaibasa as the  headquarter of West Singhbhum.   West Singhbhum District forms the Southern part of the newly created  Jharkhand State and is the largest district in the State. The district spread over  210 58' & 230 36' North latitude and 850 0' & 86054' East Longitude. The district  is situated at a height of 244 Meter above the sea level and has an area of  5351.41 Sq. Kilometers. The district is bounded on the North by the district of  Khunti , on the East by Saraikela-Kharsawan district, on the South by Keonjhar,  Mayurbhanj and Sundargarh districts of Orissa and on the West by the district of  Simdega and Sundargarh (in Orissa). The district is full of hills alternating with  valleys, steep mountains and deep forests on the mountain slopes. The majority  of the population of West Singhbhum district is tribal population.  Web Site Developed & Maintained By ATMA, West Singhbhum, Chaibasa, Ph./Fax : 06582-257901, e-mail : atmachaibasa@yahoo.com
Pankaj Kumar Singh Project Director ATMA, W. Singhbhum Chaibasa
Sri Arava Rajkamal (IAS) Dy. Com.-Cum-Chairman ATMA, W. Singhbhum